Elisalex

Pink pink pink!

elisalex

By Hand London’s Elisalex dress is one of my all-time favourite patterns and the box pleats in the tulip skirt give it such a great shape.

elisalex back

The patterns all come in very sleek and swish packaging and the instructions are excellent.

rw-by-hand-london-72-Edit-2

The way the bodice is lined is especially neat and I chose to line this exceptionally pink number with a sheer white lining fabric which adds to the luxurious feel of the whole shebang. It reminds me of the first dress I ever made, aged about 15. I wore it til it had holes in and was beyond repair (well into my 20s), and this Elisalex makes me smile in just the same way.

pink

I found BHL’s sewalong really handy. I’ve now made 3 of these, including The Reversible Elisalex of Pure Joy (post coming soon!) and have ideas in the pipeline for many more. I love the idea of pattern-hacking to match different skirts and bodices and create lots of variations.

 

Leave a Reply

