Jacket

jacket

Last summer, a friend and I embarked upon out hardest sewing challenges to date: jackets! We had a blissful week’s holiday in Somerset, taking bikes, violins and sewing machines. I chose a fairly cheap material as I wasn’t confident of success but now I rather wish I’d been brave enough to go for something a bit more me…

ANYhow, after much puzzling (mainly about the lapels), it all came together rather nicely. I decided to line it to hide all the raw, although the pattern (from the Great British Sewing Bee book) doesn’t say to and I’m pretty pleased with my French seams:

seams

and patch pocket with cute floral trim:

jacket pocket

During the final stages, disaster struck: my ancient iron burned a hole in the facing (imagine if it’d been on the outside!!) We laughed until we cried and then I made good the damage with a snazzy secret carousel patch:

burn hole

burn

patch

Please share your near-disasters…have you ever burned anything??

Leave a Reply

