BHL Anna #1

As soon as I saw this stylish-looking pattern from By Hand London, I knew it would make a fabulous concert dress. I play the violin and sing in various groups and perform in lots of concerts. It’s always hard to find elegant concert-wear which is also comfortable to play/sing in so I was very excited at the prospect of making my own.

By Hand London Anna Dress

By Hand London Anna Dress

black3

BHL Anna dress

The kimono-style sleeves allow plenty of movement and I made it roomy enough to take nice deep breaths when singing. Every time I wear it, I get so many lovely comments from fellow performers and members of the audience.

Anna dress

BHL Anna dress

I chose a cotton fabric with a slight shine to it which feels oh so luxurious and is heavy enough to drape beautifully. I also love the bodice pleats which give such a clever shape to it. I’ve made 3 more of these delicious dresses so watch out for them over the next few weeks. Next time, I think I’ll line the bodice rather than use facings…

Have you made garments with specific purposes in mind? I’d love to hear about them!

 

Leave a Reply

