Pattern Hack

When the girls at By Hand London announced their #PatternHackathon, the timing couldn’t have been better! I’ve been planning this combo for a while now as both patterns have such beautiful shapes. I combined the elegant bodice of the Elisalex dress with the lovely Deer and Doe Belladone skirt:

DSCN2181

 

I love the shape of the Elisalex all over but especially at the back:

 

DSCN2182

 

With a November wedding, I knew I needed sleeves and I decided to hack the patterns together to allow a longer skirt (but still a fun shape thanks to the fun and flattering pleats!) As so often happens, I found fabric inspiration in the wonderful Guthrie and Ghani and chose this delicate and luxurious Nani Iro double gauze and added a super cute lace trim around the hem lining (I LOVE the hem facing in this pattern!)

FullSizeRender (3)

Here’s the back again because I love it so much:

DSCN2183

 

I had to move the skirt pleats to line up with the princess seams which was much easier than I’d feared. I kept the size of the pleats the same by re-positioning the pattern piece to match the bodice seams. I did have to take quite a lot out of the side seams of the skirt to make the two fit. The Belladone waist line is slightly lower and therefore slightly wider I suppose. I also found the bodice gaped at the back and fell off my shoulders in a way that the previous versions I’ve made didn’t. I’m glad I removed the zip and took the dress in at the centre back as the snug fit is one of the best things about the Elisalex top.

DSCN2188

 

It’s so inspiring to see all the pattern hacking that’s going on out there! Which patterns have you hacked?

5 thoughts on “Pattern Hack

  1. This is absolutely gorgeous! I love the fabric and the bodice and skirt go together so well. I love the elisalex bodice, and I tried making one once, but gave up when I just couldn’t get the skirt to behave, evidently I just need to swap it out!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! And yes, do it. Although a complete Elisalex is also a thing of great beauty so maybe persevere with the skirt. I find it works better shorter and with a bit taken out of the side seams…Catherine x

      Like

  2. Wow, I love this dress! The fabric and style really suits you. I love the way you’ve hacked the skirt- I was thinking of trying an Elisalex but not sure the bubble skirt would suit me, might try hacking it with a circle skirt. Well done on your lovely creation!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: BHL Prize Hamper | Clemens

Leave a Reply

