Purcell Quilt

This weekend I went to visit a very special friend and was pleased to catch a glimpse of this quilt I made for him and his wife as a wedding present.

IMG_0832.JPG

IMG_0828.JPG

IMG_0831.JPG

I’d forgotten lots of the details of the design and the fabrics so it was lovely to be reminded. But best of all was to revisit the secret snippets of music is stitched into the borders. One of the pieces of music in their wedding ceremony was the Purcell Chacony and I just l o v e it! I chose my favourite bits from each part and added them in, using blue stripy fabric as the staves:

IMG_0821.JPG

IMG_0820.JPG

IMG_0822.JPG

IMG_0823.JPG

I know this quilt is very loved and that’s really gratifying as its maker. Have a listen to the music that inspired it:
Purcell Chacony

IMG_0827.JPG

IMG_0825.JPG

IMG_0824.JPG

IMG_0826.JPG

What do you think? Have you ever made a really personalised present? I’d love to hear about it!

2 thoughts on “Purcell Quilt

Leave a comment